Draf Speaking IBT TOEFL

Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels.com

Kembali berjumpa bagi para siswa dan teman-teman literasi yang berminat untuk meningkatkan speaking dalam bahasa Inggris. Saya ingin berbagi ilmu yang saya dapatkan dari berbagai sumber di buku maupun internet juga dari aplikasi yang saya download,”TOEFL IBT” . Melalui aplikasi ini kita bisa memilih mana yang mudah menurut kita untuk kita pelajari. Tentunya yang sesuai dengan level kita namun tidak ada salahnya jika kita melihat sepintas atau jika perlu membaca contoh-contoh integrated skills (speaking, listening, reading dan writing) level yang lebih tinggi. Hal ini dapat memicu kita untuk meningkatkan level yang kita miliki.

Saya biasanya membaca level yang lebih tinggi karena saya ingin mendapatkan kosa kata yang baru kemudian saya cari artinya dari google translate. Google translate adalah cara yang termudah bagi saya untuk mengetahui arti kata yang tidak saya ketahui namun kita harus pandai memilih padanan yang tepat dengan konteks dalam kalimat.

Berikut contoh speaking yang saya ambil dari salah satu topik dengan beberapa alternatif jawaban. Saya menyajikannya dalam bahasa Inggris. Bagi siswa atau teman-teman yang belum paham bisa di translate ke bahasa Indonesia. Dari topik ini akan dapat menginspirasi juga bagi pecinta literasi untuk mengembangkan ide-ide ini kedalam tulisan dalam bahasa Indonesia maupun dalam bahasa Inggris.

Kali ini saya sajikan contoh topik speaking task one pada test TOEFL IBT.

“Talk about a book you have read that was important to you for some reason. Explain why the book was important to you. Give specific details and examples to explain your answer.” (45 seconds for preparation and 1 minute to speak).

Sample 1.

The book that was important to me was an instruction manual on how to pronounce English. When I was a middle school student, I did not speak English very well. I was always confused with my native pronunciation, and I was frustrated with that. So, I used this book to practice a lot. And there was also a video with this book, so I watched the video. I practiced and imitated the pronunciation. Now I have improved my English and also gained some confidence because of the book.

Sample 2

Recently, I read a book named “Keep the aspidistra flying written” by George Orwell. The book influences me a lot because the story has something that touches my heart. The story talks about a man who wants to be a poet and who abandons many well-paying jobs to pursue his dream of being a poet. I have a similar experience of quitting a very good job in order to be a writer. Also, the man in the story is lack of money because he works as a bookstore assistant and thus has a very low salary. He lives in a shabby apartment and sometimes has no money to buy food. Again, I’ve got a similar experience. I once lived in a cramped apartment alone and had no money. The book is important to me because it touches me and gives me encouragement to persist.

Sample 3

The most helpful book for me is the famous English novel “Jane Eyre” written by Charlotte Bronte. The heroin called Jane Eyre is outward of poor appearance but plucky, she poses great courage and indomitable spirit to the battle against unfair fortune as the governess to the daughter of attractive Mr. Rochester. That story that happened on Jane does encourage people to challenge fate and take a positive and independent attitude to fight for freedom and equality, thus allowing access to our own happiness. That is also why I think this book, Jane Eyre, is so important to me.

Note:

to pursue – to pursue, outwardly – secara lahiriah, plucky-berani, governess – pengasuh, indomitable -gigih.

Nani Kusmiyati, S.Pd., M.M., CTMP.

Diterbitkan oleh nanikusmiyati

Dosen yang terus belajar sepanjang hayat.

2 tanggapan untuk “Draf Speaking IBT TOEFL

Tinggalkan komentar

Rancang situs seperti ini dengan WordPress.com
Ayo mulai